Book Club Bummer

I really want to be part of a great book club.

I really do.

I’m part of a book club now, but I feel like I go every time hoping it will change and be the book club I’m imagining. It never does.

Is it too much to ask for a book club that selects good books? I understand not everyone has the same taste, and the entire reason I’m in book club is to expand my reading list, but my book club consistently chooses books I call “mom books” ie: idiotically romantic, dumbed down, or full of sappy spiritual values.*

So I’ve decided to try and find a new book club, one that reads a higher caliber of book. It’s hard to have an intelligent discussion about a book, content, or values if book club becomes a therapy session for a select few members who wish their love life matched the protagonist in the story.

Maybe I’m being too harsh on the book club; it is full of older women and they seem to enjoy what they’re reading.

I just don’t think it’s the book club for me. Hopefully next month at a new book club yields better results!

*By spiritual values I mean the sappy, lame books that are written with a transparent metaphor and illustrate God coming down like a magical bullet and solving all your problems.

Leave a Reply

