Death & Taxes

So it’s tax time, and I’m sitting here avoiding doing my taxes by doing everything else I can possibly think of.  (I’ve now cleaning out my email inbox, responded to every email, done dishes, cleaned the apartment, played with my cat, and drafted a couple blog posts)

I hate doing my taxes.  I know everyone does, but doing taxes makes me feel like I fail as a adult.  Whenever I do my taxes I’m always reminded that I should do a better job of keeping track of bills, payments, incoming funds, etc…  As a freelancer there are whole other aspects to doing taxes that I never had to worry about when working a 9 to 5.  And since my husband and I both freelance it feels even more difficult.  Maybe I’m just being a whiny baby, but it’s hard to remember to keep track of the receipts that have mailing envelopes on them, much less plane tickets or equipment costs.

Doing taxes just reminds me that I hate dealing with paperwork.  I know I’m better than some people.  I was raised by two accountants, so at least I try to balance my checkbook every month and I save what receipts I can.  I guess I just know how much better I could do, and it is disheartening to realize that I fall way short of what I could be doing.

Death and taxes: the only certainties in life.  I feel like you can do both exceedingly well or exceedingly poorly.  I plan on dying exceedingly well when I’m 111 and after I’ve given my Bilbo Baggins speech, but I’m pretty mediocre when it comes to taxes.

Leave a Reply

