Salad Dressings

I’m in the market for a fabulous new salad dressing container to store my homemade salad dressings.  So I pop on down to my local Target and look in the kitchen area.  I find the perfect bottle; not too big, not too small, and it’s just skinny enough to fit in my over-condimented fridge.  The only problem?  It has no lid.  None of them do.  Either they do not come with a seal for the top, or someone played a very mean prank and stole all the lids from the containers! I really felt like I was in a pickle since the salad dressings container had a bevvy of delicious recipes along the side, and who doesn’t want recipes at the ready?

Needless to say I bought a different container.  Not sealing a dressing seems like a quick route to disaster, but I thought I would share the recipes here, so we can all enjoy them. (Yeah, I took pictures like a weirdo while in Target so I could save the recipes.)

french vinaigrette

French Vinaigrette

2 oz olive oil

4 oz rice wine vinegar

2 tbsp mixed parsley

1 tsp Dijon mustard

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp sugar

Pinch of salt and pepper

creamy caesar

Creamy Caesar

2 oz non-fat grated parmesean cheese

4 oz non fat plain yogurt

1 egg yolk

1 tsp worcestershire sauce

1 tsp dijon mustard

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp anchovy paste

Dash of salt and pepper

italian herb

Italian Herb

6 oz balsamic vinegar

3 tbsp olive oil

3 tsp dried basil

3 tsp ground oregano

3 tsp ground thyme

Dash of salt and pepper

citrus ginger

Creamy Citrus Ginger

2 oz non fat plain yogurt

4 oz orange juice

2 tbsp lemon juice

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp ground pepper

Dash of salt

honey mustard

Honey Mustard

6 oz rice wine vinegar

6 tsp honey

6 tsp hot chinese mustard

3 tsp vegetable oil

Pinch of salt and pepper

sesame scalion

Sesame Scallion

2 oz apple juice

4 oz rice wine vinegar

2 tbsp sesame oil

2 tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp sugar

2 diced scallions

I ended up with this container, and while I am happy with it, it doesn’t have the assortment of recipes.  Only three.  But it has the fabulous swivel feature, which I think we can all appreciate how fun that makes salad.  *push whizz whizz*

chefn

Leave a Reply

