#16 – Update

52919931

Well, that was basically a bust. I made it two days before I cut my foot, thought I was going to die, and decided to numb my pain with some whiskey. And then I had a dinner engagement, and a party, and I almost sliced my finger off (thank you #24) and blah blah…  I may have to re-think this particular goal. I don’t have any stretches of 7 days where I’m not going to some networking event or another and my industry isn’t really conducive to going dry.

Whining over, now on to deeper analysis:

I will say, myself the absolute drop off come day 3, that I did well during the two days I was on a fast. I had an event where there was a free bar (free, by the way, with top shelf liquor) and I opted for coke with lime. It wasn’t weird to not order a drink, that part was fine. I didn’t miss the alcohol or drinking as much as I thought I would, probably because the free tacos were delicious and I wasn’t expected to network and make nice with people. The other day I was at home, and you know, easy until I injured myself.

As a recovering shy person, sometimes I still need that liquid courage when out at a party or at a networking event where I don’t know that many people, or the people I know are not my bff’s. As I type this, it makes me feel like crap that it sounds like I need the alcohol to “loosen up” or “take the edge off” but that’s legitimately what it does, and part of its appeal. I don’t need it, but it helps. And it tastes good. The two days where my options were water, tea, or more water, I got pretty bored with drinking beverages. I love the way different beers and wine tastes, how a well-mixed cocktail delights the tongue, and how with a few ingredients you can make such a wide variety of things.

I think I’ll keep the resolution for now, but I’m going to combine it with the Whole 30 challenge– if I’m overhauling my entire diet I feel like it will be easier to overhaul everything together. Maybe.

Original post: https://wordpress.com/post/amandakgriswold.wordpress.com/421

30 in 330 challenge post: https://wordpress.com/post/amandakgriswold.wordpress.com/399

Leave a Reply

