#9 – Whole 30

whole30header1

Wowsa, so I’m on day 10 of my Whole 30 and so far things are going well! This is my second round of Whole 30, and while I was pretty lax the first time around, this time I’m actually doing it; not adding soy sauce or half ass-ing it.

This makes for #9 on my 30 in 330 list previous post and I’m feeling really good. It’s taking care of #16 as well, with the no drinking bit. I’m reading a great book on habits that has me thinking about what I do and how to sustain the weight loss and great feelings I’ve got going on this month.

Reasons I decided to Whole 30:

~to lose weight (who doesn’t have this goal though?)

~to beat my carb cravings (no gluten, no dairy, no sugar, no processed foods)

~to get better at meal prep (currently I walk in my kitchen and have zero plan)

~to help Ryan make more meals (…which means my husband does most of the cooking)

~to experiment with more foods (…which makes me sad because I love to cook)

~as support for my friend (she’s embarking on this journey as well!)

~to challenge myself (that which does not grow withers and dies)

~to prove I can (I love a good challenge, and giving up carbs is just that for me!)

~to help with not drinking (I failed last time I tried to cold turkey, but this is great)

~to change my habits (our diet doesn’t keep me at the weight I want)

~to pay more attention to what my body actually needs (#learning)

~to take better care of myself (I feel better when I’m on less carbs)

Whole-30-Food-List

One of the biggest things that has kept me on track is the the Instagram account I started specifically for my Whole 30. Follow along at Whole30MG (see how I played with OMG there?) to get some recipe ideas, what a normal human eats on a regular basis, and how much I’m really working on working out.

The working out is a big to me as I’m trying to meet my 1000 mile challenge I started in January. Currently I’ve run/hiked 125.23 miles this year. While I would normally rejoice, I’m behind the mileage count I should be at to meet my goal. I need to be running 23.02 miles per week to catch up and make my 1000 miles. To that end, I’ve signed up for a half marathon in June to help motivate, and so far it’s working.

Coming up with the Whole 30: a post on habits (once I finish the book), a post with my before and after photos, and a post with some of the meal highlights I’ve made.

Leave a Reply

