#16 Give Up Alcohol – DONE!

So, I did it. I gave up alcohol for a week. It actually wasn’t that hard once I made a firm commitment to do so, rather than a pie crust promise to myself to do so. I have a friend who doesn’t drink, and a month or so I ago I asked about it, and she said it was easy to not do something once you’d legitimately, firmly decided on it. It’s the New Years Even goals that never seem to work out for us, or never seem to quite happen– that’s when we’re just setting ourselves up for unrealistic expectations and then end up berating ourselves for a little lack of willpower.

Esferocitose hereditária

To be perfectly honest, it was also easy after realizing I might have the family hereditary blood disease of spherocytosis, aka, I have spherical shaped blood cells rather than circles. In my mom and aunt, this meant they eventually had to have their spleen removed– an action that makes you constantly tired and basically unable to workout or run marathons. That’s a terrifying prospect to me, so I actually made an appointment to get my blood checked out and haven’t had a drink since.

Part of the snazzy side effects of the disease means that alcohol affects me differently, and I believe can make it harder on the liver to cleanse the toxins, which means it can lead to liver failure. I work at a hospital, of all the things you don’t want, liver failure or liver disease should be at the top of the list. It’s the worst. So not drinking seems like an easy option until I get some blood work done and know for sure.

It’s also been really easy because my husband has decided not to drink as well. Talk about a killer support system. I think that’s been the biggest difference between going 7 days no sweat and the other times I’m attempted and failed– I had the person who’s opinion matters most to me 100% backing me up rather than saying ‘Just have a sip of this cocktail.’

Overall on my 30 in 330 goals, I’m not doing stellar. I’ve only accomplished about 10 out of 30; but I’m also looking at it as I’ve accomplished one major goal every month– and that’s kind of amazing if you think about it!

Leave a Reply

